Returning by popular demand!

Enjoy a musical adventure, ripped from the pages of Mo Willems' beloved award-winning, best-selling children's books. Willems' classic characters Elephant and Piggie storm the stage in a rollicking musical romp filled with plenty of pachydermal peril and swiney suspense perfect for young audiences. Carefully cautious Gerald and spirited playful Piggie share a day where anything is possible in an imaginative exploration of the meaning of friendship. Together with nutty backup singers, The Squirrelles, our comedic duo even gets the audience involved in the action.

Elephant and Piggie's: We Are in a Play! is produced with permission of Music Theater International.

Based on the Elephant & Piggie books by Mo Willems
Published by Hyperion Books for Children
Script and Lyrics by Mo Willems
Music by Deborah Wicks La Puma

Fee: $9 with museum admission ($7 Members), $12 Theater only

Performance Dates:

Limited seating available! Weekends and April school break performances:

  • Monday, April 10, 2023 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 11, 2023 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 12, 2023 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 13, 2023 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Friday, April 14, 2023 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, April 23, 2023 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, April 29, 2023 at 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 7, 2023 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 13, 2023 at 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 21, 2023 at 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, June 3, 2023 at 2:00 PM

Additional Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday school group performances also available. Select "Get Tickets" below to view all dates.

Get Tickets