Shai the elf, a newly-appointed yard elf, tries her best to clean up a human’s butterfly garden. But when she accidentally pulls up a milkweed, she becomes responsible for a butterfly egg and its needs for a new home! With the help of a feisty fairy, Shai works to protect and nurture her new caterpillar friend through metamorphosis and onto a high-flying happy ending. This new musical comedy is the latest work from award-winning songwriter Lena Pennino-Smith, the same artist behind such LICM favorites as “Happy as Clams: The Musical” and “The Princess Frog.” With a 90 percent decline in monarch butterfly populations over the last 20 years, this musical encourages audiences of all ages to plant beautiful milkweed: everything our local butterflies need to transform from adorable eggs to soaring sensations!
Music and Book by Lena Pennino-Smith
Arrangements by Brian Smith 

Download My Butterfly Education Packet (PDF)

Performance Dates:

Tickets are selling quickly. Limited seating available! Please note there are six weekend performances.

  • Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 10:15 am - SOLD OUT
  • Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 12:15 pm - SOLD OUT 
  • Friday, May 17, 2019 - 10:15 am 
  • Friday, May 17, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Saturday, May 18, 2019 - 11:30 am 
  • Saturday, May 18, 2019 - 2:00 pm
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 10:15 am
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2019 - 10:15 am - SOLD OUT
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 10:15 am - SOLD OUT
  • Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - 10:15 am 
  • Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - 12:15 pm - SOLD OUT
  • Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 10:15 am
  • Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Friday, May 31, 2019 - 10:15 am
  • Friday, May 31, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Sunday, June 2, 2019 - 11:30 am
  • Sunday, June 2, 2019 - 2:00 pm
  • Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 10:15 am
  • Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 10:15 am - SOLD OUT
  • Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 12:15 pm - SOLD OUT
  • Thursday, June 6, 2019 - 10:15 am - SOLD OUT
  • Thursday, June 6, 2019 - 12:15 pm - SOLD OUT
  • Friday, June 7, 2019 - 10:15 am
  • Friday, June 7, 2019 - 12:15 pm
  • Saturday, June 8, 2018 - 11:30 am
  • Saturday, June 8, 2018 - 2:00 pm

get tickets