Shai the elf, a newly-appointed yard elf, tries her best to clean up a human’s butterfly garden. But when she accidentally pulls up a milkweed, she becomes responsible for a butterfly egg and its needs for a new home! With the help of a feisty fairy, Shai works to protect and nurture her new caterpillar friend through metamorphosis and onto a high-flying happy ending. This new musical comedy is the latest work from award-winning songwriter Lena Pennino-Smith, the same artist behind such LICM favorites as “Happy as Clams: The Musical” and “The Princess Frog.” With a 90 percent decline in monarch butterfly populations over the last 20 years, this musical encourages audiences of all ages to plant beautiful milkweed: everything our local butterflies need to transform from adorable eggs to soaring sensations!


Music and Book by Lena Pennino-Smith
Arrangements by Brian Smith 

Download My Butterfly Education Packet (PDF)

Performance Dates:

Tickets are selling quickly. Limited seating available! Please note there are four weekend performances.

  • Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 28, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Friday, May 29, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Friday, June 5, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 11:30 AM and 2:00 PM
  • Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM
  • Friday, June 12, 2020 at 10:00 AM and 12:00 PM

Get Tickets